Nominations For The Most Valuable Annual MMA Awards Announced

Nominations For The Most Valuable Annual MMA Awards Announced

Nominations for this year’s award ceremony for the most respected and valuable MMA awards have been announced.

This year’s Fighters Only MMA Awards, or 2019 Achievement Awards, were scheduled to take place on July 8, during International Fight Week in Las Vegas. However, the situation with the COVID-19 pandemic has made this impossible, and the award will take place in late summer or early autumn. The exact date and location will be announced later.

Nominations for the same have been announced today, and an interesting change was introduced precisely because of that date shift. All the fights that took place in 2019, but also in 2020 until the end of June, enter the competition. Thus, this is no longer an award only for 2019, and it is difficult to conclude what the deal will look like in this case, since half of 2020 will be included in this year’s election.

The biggest winner, that is the winner of the nominations, is certainly Weili Zhang. The Chinese woman has been nominated in as many as four different categories and it is believed that the UFC’s Strawweight category champion could reach at least one award. Among the fighters stand out Israel Adesanya and Jorge Masvidal, who were nominated in three categories. The nomination was also earned by Stipe Miocic, for the best turnaround, of course, the one from the fight against Daniel Cormier.

Below the text is a list of all nominations, and you can vote by clicking and registering at THIS link.

Charles ‘Mask’ Lewis Fighter Of The Year

Henry Cejudo

Israel Adesanya

Justin Gaethje

Jorge Masvidal

Douglas Lima

Female Fighter Of The Year

Valentina Shevchenko

Weili Zhang

Kayla Harrison

Cris Cyborg

Amanda Nunes

Breakthrough Fighter Of The Year

Weili Zhang

Alexander Volkanovski

Gilbert Burns

Jorge Masvidal

Petr Yan

International Fighter Of The Year

Weili Zhang

Kamaru Usman

Israel Adesanya

Valentina Shevchenko

Aung La N Sang

Fight Of The Year

Weili Zhang vs. Joanna Jedrzejczyk (UFC 248)

Kamaru Usman vs. Colby Covington (UFC 245)

Israel Adesanya vs. Kelvin Gastelum (UFC 236)

Dustin Poirier vs. Dan Hooker (UFC on ESPN 12)

Josh Emmett vs. Shane Burgos (UFC on ESPN 11)

Knockout Of The Year

Jorge Masvidal vs. Ben Askren (UFC 239)

Cody Garbrandt vs. Raphael Assuncao (UFC 250)

Anthony Pettis vs. Stephen Thompson (UFC on ESPN 6)

Sean O’Malley vs. Eddie Wineland (UFC 250)

Douglas Lima vs. Michael Page (Bellator 221)

Submission Of The Year

Brent Primus vs. Tim Wilde (Bellator Europe 2)

Bryce Mitchell vs. Matt Sayles (UFC on ESPN 7)

Aviv Gozali vs. Eduard Muravitsky (Bellator 225)

Demian Maia vs. Ben Askren (UFC on ESPN+ 20)

Misha Cirkunov vs. Jimmy Crute (UFC on ESPN+ 16)

Comeback Of The Year

Stipe Miocic vs. Daniel Cormier (UFC 241)

Eddie Alvarez vs. Eduard Flayang (ONE Championship 99)

Jairzinho Rozenstruik vs. Alistair Overeem (UFC on ESPN 7)

Peter Queally vs. Ryan Scope (Bellator Europe 4)

Cody Garbrandt (Career)

Upset Of The Year

Alexander Volkanovski vs. Max Holloway (UFC 245)

Henry Corrales vs. Aaron Pico (Bellator 214)

Khama Worthy vs. Devonte Smith (UFC 241)

Kai Asakura vs. Kyoji Horiguchi (Rizin FF 18)

Timofey Nastyukhin vs. Eddie Alvarez (ONE Championship 92)

Shawn Tompkins Coach Of The Year

Eugene Bareman

Sayif Saud

Mike Brown

Trevor Wittman

Eric Albarracin

Trainer Of The Year

Andre Hicks (strength and fitness)

Sunz Singh (strength and fitness)

George Lockhart (nutrition)

Bo Sandoval (strength and fitness)

Phil Daru (strength and fitness)

Gym Of The Year

Fortis MMA

Elevation Fight Team

Sanford MMA

American Top Team

American Kickboxing Academy

Referee Of The Year

Herb Dean

Jason Herzog

Mike Beltran

Frank Trigg

Marc Goddard

Ringcard Girl Of The Year

Carly Baker

Jhenny Andrade

Louise McKie

Brittany Palmer

Mercedes Terell

Leading Man

Dana White (UFC)

Densign White (IMMAF)

Martin Lewandowski (KSW)

Nobuyuki Sakakibara (Rizin FF)

Scott Coker (Bellator)

Best Promotion



ONE Championship



Personality Of The Year

Jon Anik

Chael Sonnen

John McCarthy

The Schmo

Joe Rogan

Analyst Of The Year

Robin Black

Michael Bisping

Paul Felder

Daniel Cormier

Dan Hardy

Best MMA Programming

Ariel Helwani’s MMA Show


UFC Embedded

Dana White’s Contender Series

Anatomy Of A Fighter

MMA Media Source Of The Year



MMA Junkie

The Mac Life

The Athletic

MMA Journalist Of The Year

John Morgan

Mike Bohn

Brett Okamoto

Ariel Helwani

Gareth Davies

Fighting Spirit Of The Year

Dustin Poirier (Good Fight Foundation)

Justin Wren (Fight for the Forgotten)

Robbie Lawler (How to take a loss)

Conor McGregor (PPE donation)

Walt Harris (Return to fighting)

Vladimir Vladisavljevic has been training in the art of kickboxing for over seven years, holds a Taekwondo black belt, and has a master's degree in sports and physical education. He's also a huge mixed martial arts fan. He's a big deal in Bulgaria as a mixed martial arts commentator, analyst, and podcaster.
Article by

Vladimir Vladisavljevic

Vladimir Vladisavljevic has a master's degree in sports and physical education. He has been training in kickboxing for over seven years and holds a Taekwondo black belt. He's also a huge mixed martial arts fan. Vladimir is a big deal in Bulgaria as a mixed martial arts commentator, analyst, and podcaster. He was known as The Bulgarian Cowboy in the Western world. In addition, he has a YouTube channel where he talks about his love of esports, one of the fastest-growing fields in the world. Our testing and reviewing method.
Scroll to Top